Experiencing a DUI charge can be a scary and confusing situation. What are the potential consequences? Will you lose your license? It can be difficult to know where to begin to overcome this charge.
There are a variety of methods to attempt to repair the damage of having a St. Charles, Illinois DUI on your driving record. But having a record can make things more complicated.
After you have been charged, continuing a successful record will require special effort.
What To Expect After Getting a DUI
In the state of Illinois, it is a Class A misdemeanor to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A DUI comes with a maximum sentence of up to a year in prison. A DUI can also come with a maximum fine of $2500.
Any time you get convicted of a DUI, you can expect to lose your privilege to drive. There are different suspension and revocation periods depending on the number of prior DUI convictions a person has.
A first DUI conviction will receive the shortest revocation period. A second DUI conviction comes with a minimum revocation period of one year if the second offense occurred more than 20 years after the first.
If the second offense occurred less than 20 years after the first, the revocation period is a minimum of five years. A third DUI conviction results in a minimum revocation of ten years.
Any conviction after that will result in a complete loss of driving privileges for life (even though obtaining a permit after a period of time is possible).
What’s the Difference Between License Suspension and Revocation?
A suspension is a temporary loss of driving privileges. It is a set amount of time. At the end of that period, the driver pays a fee and their driver’s license automatically gets reinstated.
A license revocation is also a loss of driving privileges, but for an indefinite amount of time. A revoked license cannot get automatically reinstated. The only way to reinstate your driving privileges is to appear for a hearing.
How To Get Your License Reinstated After DUI
Getting your license revoked even for a short period can make life impossible for residents of Illinois. Everything we do requires a valid driver’s license. Try getting to work, the doctor, or the grocery store without one.
Unfortunately, the process of getting a license reinstated is different for every person. When and how you get your license reinstated depends on the reason it was suspended or revoked.
If you can wait until your suspension automatically lifts, all you’ll need to do is pay a reinstatement fee. If you’re unable to wait, you will need the help of an experienced lawyer to navigate the reinstatement process.
To get your license reinstated after a DUI revocation, you will need to meet the following requirements:
- Maintain a clean driving record
- Go through a drug and alcohol treatment program
- Complete a drug and alcohol education program
- Meet with a hearing officer
- File proof of financial responsibility
- Pay the license reinstatement fee
- Pay the license reinstatement application fee
Finally, in order to get your license reinstated, you will need to pass a written driving test and a behind-the-wheel driving test. You will also need to pass a vision test to make sure you are safe to drive.
If the loss of your license prevents you from getting to work, receiving medical care, or caring for a loved one, you may qualify for a hardship license.
An experienced license reinstatement lawyer can help you apply and get approved for an Illinois hardship license. Learn more about the process of getting a hardship license here.
What to Expect When Applying for Insurance After a DUI
Many people with DUIs want to know how to hide a DUI from insurance. Unfortunately, this is not possible to do.
When an insurance company is considering whether to insure a driver, they look at their driving record and criminal record. They put drivers with a DUI in the high-risk category, which results in higher rates.
The good news is you will still be able to get driver’s insurance for your vehicle with a DUI conviction. The bad news is you will have to pay more for your insurance.
Keeping a Clean Record After DUI Tip
Keeping a clean record after a DUI is crucial to getting your license reinstated. You should never drive with a suspended or revoked license.
St. Charles Reinstatement After a DUI
A DUI conviction may or may not come with a hefty fine and jail time. It will come with the loss of your driving privileges for a matter of months to years, depending on the number of DUI convictions.
If you have experienced license revocation, the best thing you can do is to contact a lawyer. We understand how important it is to have a driver’s license in Illinois.
Contact John M. Quinn and Associates for a free consultation.